Why Do We Do What We Do?

The question that justifies our purpose in life

Tia Ella Gliata
7 min readDec 18, 2020
Photo by Norma Mortenson from Pexels

“Keep doing what you do, Mike.” — Mithell Garabedian, Spotlight

Spotlight is a 2015 drama/history movie that earned itself the most prestigious awards at the Oscar 2016, Best Picture and Best Original Screenplay. It captured an actual event about a team of investigative journalists who worked for The Boston Globe that was covering a story about child-abuse cases by priests in Boston. The story managed to uncover hundreds of more victim stories who reached out after the story was published.

I couldn’t help but think after watching the movie,

Is that what we’re supposed to do with our lives? Doing something that’s actually important? or matters?

Needless to say, I’m no better.

I started my career at the age of 20 with one of the most common jobs of all in the 21st century; working for a startup company in the marketing department. I wasn’t a software engineer or a product manager, but it was still common enough among the fresh graduates of my graduation year.

I spent at least one-third of a day at work every day which was not a small amount of time. A regular job requires at least 40 hours/week on average. That would account for 36% of my time in a week minus the average…

--

--

Tia Ella Gliata

Pouring my heart out. Writing as self-therapy. Healthy lifestyle, exploring, & building a community I’ll devote my life to. Cheerio!